weekend of productivity, II

After our completely successful bridemaids dress retrieval, we drove down the street to Paper Source, in Old Town, to find something to line the invitation envelopes with. My understanding from the DIY bride blogs I read is that this is a fairly simple DIY undertaking. Since I am crafting impaired, I figure it is something I can do that will be a nice touch. My mother thinks I’m crazy, but. She is the one who jumped up and down about putting the “u” in honor on the invitation. At least I know what country we’re in.

BM K is quite popular and had other appointments Saturday afternoon, so she took her leave of us, and BMs A and E joined me on our craft materials expedition. Now. You are putting three 20-something ladies each with various levels of design background in a high end paper and stationery store. I do not need to tell you that this was neither a brief nor inexpensive excursion. Hooooowever we did end up with some BEE-YOO-TEE-FUL paper with which to line the envelopes. It’s a green and gold metallic brocade pattern, not unlike this one from the Paper Source website. It may even be the exact same pattern, but in person it’s a little more muted. Also we bought big sheets of it. Heck if I’m shelling out for precut envelope liners. That’s what exacto knives are for!

paper2

image source

While we were there, I also took the opportunity to select some ribbon for the place cards that we’re making. The purpose of the ribbon will become clear to you at a later date (presuming you care) but for now, you may gaze upon the lovely colors I picked.

842612005628zchocolate ribbonmoss ribbon

images source

Also, because I am not completely insane, I snagged an envelope liner template kit.

Sure, I probably could have sized them myself but… you cannot put a price on sanity, my friends. More of the weekend of productivity, coming soon.

Leave a comment