dear weddingbee

Dear Weddingbee,

You were one of the first group wedding blogs I found when I started planning, back before I was even engaged right after J proposed. I enjoyed the variety in the weddings, the fact that you could always be trusted to have a new post up for me to read, and the different personalities of the brides/couples that you featured. I even kept reading after the big eHarmony disaster sell-out news. I figured I would give you the benefit of the doubt.

Unfortunately, I’m going to have to end it now though. You’ve just become too commercialized, WB. The new features are great, but the number of them is beginning to overwhelm me. And don’t even get me started on the number of bloggers. I’m sure they’re all great folks – they always have been. But I can’t even keep track of who is who anymore, let alone develop any sort of attachment. Every time I open my beloved Google Reader, there are at least 20 new WB posts! I’ve been skipping past the “Pro” and “Classifieds” posts for awhile (if I wanted info on a Pro or to buy something off of the Classifieds, I’d go to that section of the website… no reason to be redundant) but now trying to dig through them all for updates from my favorite Bees or to find good DIY instructions isn’t even worth my time anymore.

WB, I’ve really enjoyed our months together. And there are definitely things about you that I will miss. I’m sure I’ll stop by from time to time just to see how things are going. But you know how wedding planning goes. Time is precious… and I don’t have enough of it to dig through all of your posts any more.

I wish you the best in bringing inspiration to the newly betrothed everywhere.

Best,
DCKate

3 Responses

  1. It is amazing how quickly after being sold Wedding Bee degraded down to the lowest common denomenator.

  2. I couldn’t agree with this more.

  3. Also, this is WhatLizSaid… I’ve moved.

Leave a comment