(non)floral inspiration

Let me start out by saying I love flowers, I really do, and there will be flowers at my wedding. However. I’ve always wanted a fall wedding (and I’m getting one, yay!) and fall has always reminded me of non-floral natural beauty. Leaves changing colors, pumpkins and squash and gourds, apples, berries, pinecones, all of these things are so warm and homey and beautiful to me. They’re so much a part of why fall is my favorite season.  So when I started finding bridal bouquets and wedding decor that incorporated non-floral elements of nature, I loved it.

Then I saw this gorgeous bouquet on The Knot:

Photobucket

Yes, artichokes in a floral arrangement! Then and there I decided that if my wedding has nothing else, there will be an artichoke in my bouquet. How fabulous is that?

Cross my heart, you can ask my bridesmaid Kara, I have been talking about artichokes since I first saw that several months ago. Well, apparently, I was on to something. Because earlier today, as I was catching up on my Google Reader from the holidays, I saw this fabulous artichoke inspiration board on Manolo for the Brides! I love the votives.

Photobucket

Then this evening, as I got home from work I was thinking about what to post about. I considered introducing you, my dear readers, to our wedding party, but, well, we haven’t finished asking them, so that’s out of the question. Then I thought about showing you the bridesmaids looks I like, but again, it’s probably only fair that I share that with them first. And as I’m musing post ideas and catching up on all of the weddings I’ve missed on Style Me Pretty, what do I see… but this:

Photobucket

That’s right. An artichoke boutonniere. Which is when I decided fate was clearly trying to tell me something, which I interpreted to be that I needed to write a blog post about artichokes.

But, back to the artichoke inspiration board for a moment. See, right there in the middle? Pinecones! I am now toying with the idea of not just any old green and brown wedding, but an artichoke and pinecone wedding!

Is this normal? I feel it’s too early in the process to be going completely crazy. But I am concerned.

5 Responses

  1. What a fun idea!!! I love wedding that add a little spunk into the mix. A pinecone/artichoke wedding definitely does that… but from the pics you’ve shown, it looks quite rustic and elegant!

  2. what a great idea! I’m trying to figure out green/white/blue (go whalers? *sigh*) ideas for flowers/centerpieces….artichokes are…certainly original. and green 🙂

  3. This reminds me of one of my favorite centerpiece ideas I’ve ever seen – Epicurious food/floral centerpieces! Sooo whimsical and fun. Here’s the link, via diybride: http://www.diybride.com/2008/04/23/diy-wednesday-spring-centerpieces-from-epicurious/

  4. Ummm…I don’t think that boutonniere is an artichoke. I’m pretty sure it’s a succulent. They do look quite similar though!

  5. […] (non)floral inspiration @ (sub)urbanity – boutonniere idea […]

Leave a Reply

